Indian River County – Will & Tatiana Dyer, Sandy Seeley - Firefighters Fair Indian River County and Jonathan Hardie from Dyer Chevrolet.


St. Lucie County – Receiving the Dyer Difference Award for St. Lucie County are Lori Hirsch, Gail Wininger, David Long, with Dyer Chevrolet’s Jonathan Holmes and Tatiana Dyer.

Dyer Difference Awards Honor Angels and Firefighters

Sometimes it’s because of a past trauma; other times it’s a series of unfortunate events, and still other times, people become homeless because of mental health or substance abuse issues. Regardless of the cause, being homeless and living on the streets is not something you would wish on anyone because it’s a hard, lonely life to live. In St. Lucie County, Angels of Hope Outreach Ministries provides hands-on service to individuals living on the streets or in the areas many homeless camps in the wooded areas and fields right in our own back yards. Each week, volunteers provide food, clothing, and hope to individuals, many of them veterans, who find themselves without a place to call home. The group also provides food and supplies for the animals who often accompany the area’s homeless population, employment, health and human service resources, transportation and counseling. It is this concern for others and the effort to help end homelessness in our community which made the decision to award Angels of Hope Outreach Ministries with the February Dyer Difference Award for St. Lucie County.

Since 1980, the Firefighters’ Indian River County Fair has provided more than 50,000 residents and visitors with a grand activity filled with fun, food, games, and a chance to benefit a variety of local charitable organizations. This year’s fair, scheduled from March 9th through March 18th, is no exception, with proceeds benefitting organizations like MDA, the Red Cross, One Blood, United Against Poverty, the Indian River County 4-H Association, local scholarships, and the Indian River County Burn Fund. Volunteers for the Firefighters’ Fair and members of the Dyer staff family celebrated the announcement of the group as the February recipients of the Dyer Difference Award in Indian River County.




Indian River County – Will & Tatiana Dyer (left) and Nicole Schneider (right) from Dyer Chevrolet present the Dyer Difference Award to 4-H Board President Katie Profeta and board members Allison Cloughley and Christine DeBraal.

Dyer Difference Awards Recognize the Fours

One of the nation’s largest youth development and empowerment organizations is 4-H, and the Indian River County 4-H Foundation is comprised of 4-H alumni, friends, and supporters dedicated to promoting and supporting the mission of 4-H, to develop citizenship, leadership, responsibility and life skills of youth through experiential learning programs and a positive youth development approach. The program focuses on hands-on learning activities in areas like science, healthy living, and food security and promotes responsibility and growth through the use of one’s head, heart, hands, and health. The March Dyer Difference Award in Indian River County recognizes the importance of the 4-H program to the youth of our community.

And while a portion of the 4-H program focuses on animal science programs and providing responsible care and nurturing of animals, the Humane Society of St. Lucie County’s sole focus is to provide compassionate care and safe shelter for homeless animals and education to the community on responsible pet ownership. It is hard to deny the important role our furry family members provide in our lives, and the Humane Society of St. Lucie County is committed to ensuring the safety, care, and shelter of all of the community’s four-legged members. The March Dyer Difference Award helped to support the Humane Society of St. Lucie County’s largest annual fundraiser, the Fur Ball. This year’s event, which was held on March 10th, marked the organization’s 14th annual Fur Ball, and this year’s theme, Paws in Paradise, raised funds to help ensure that the area’s pets are fed, cared for, spayed, neutered, and able to live long and healthy lives.


Indian River County Award Recipients 2018